Skip to content

Home Depot

February 25, 2011

Nothing quite like a race car grocery cart, and my favorite shopping center........Home Depot

Its amazing having my favorite store also be my daughters as well. We frequent Home Depot as a family at least once a week, and it usually starts by Baylee asking to go for a ride in the “race car”.  Sunday after church Baylee came to me asking if we could take Dylan for a ride, and the answer is always yes in my books. While driving to the beach we made a detour to Home Depot, and cruised in the “race car”. A man in the store comment that those look like they are best friends. He must have felt like he said something wrong, because I am sure there was a tear in my eye at that moment. I just never sat, and actually thought about how wild it is that Jeff and My oldest kids were best friends. The fact that these to have a relationship similar to my brother, and I. For some reason as this man said what he did. It made me realize that I am blessed to be apart of watching this young friendship build. It makes me smile seeing Baylee and Dylan walk with each other or fall asleep next to each other in the back of the car. They are developing a relationship that I experienced with Jeff. It was a tough moment for me as I watched Baylee sleeping on Dylan’s shoulder while we were parked at the beach on Sunday. It was a blessing to have my brother’s son in the car with me, but made me miss my big brother like crazy.

What can I say……grief is a son of a gun 🙂 I apologize, but that has been my phrase for a while now. There are moments when I feel like I am doing well. As if my legs are sturdy on the seas of life, but that is when the rogue waves sweeps my knees. Sending me to my face in salty water only reminding me that not even the strongest of sailors makes it through life without becoming sea sick. So why should I in the process of grief think I am strong enough to “tough” out the grief process.

I am drinking Starbucks coffee at 9pm…….I just can’t get enough coffee.

Enjoy your evening!

No comments yet

Leave a comment