Skip to content

A few bumps but….

April 19, 2011

Over the past year and a half I have had a blast watching my daughter Kassidy become a great climber. At just under 3 feet tall she has proven she is willing to climb twice her height. Our day bed in the guest room stands fairly high for a bed, and she had spent the better part of a year looking up the side railings of this bed. Well those days are over this week she decided to climb the side rail, stand up on the bed, and look down at the floor screaming with a victory dance. At which point she then fell down on the bed, and rolled off and onto the floor. While all of this happened I realized that lil Kass represents the idea of a few bumps and bruises are going to happen. Now when I say this please realize I am speaking metaphysically. Every time Kassidy falls which is often she gets back up, and tries whatever it was she was doing again. She generally will accomplish whatever she has set out to do on that second try as well.

I know that life presents more than a few bumps to all of us, but what we do with those bumps is where our faith is challenged. Do we in the midst of a few “bumps” in the road become battered or beat the bumps out of the road? I would keep writing, but I am off to go get a bigger hammer 🙂

Enjoy the late night coffee!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy Inman permalink
    April 19, 2011 1:36 am

    Get a sledge hammer. Great analogy, glad you are doing well. The kids say hi!

  2. g-pop permalink
    April 19, 2011 2:44 am

    And I bet there is a big smile on her face when she conquers what ever it is she tries. I can hardly wait to see the kids next month.g-pop

  3. BoxersRule permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:49 pm

    very awesome, this remiinds me of my favorite line in the new karate kid movie…i’m always thinking of it…. “things in life will knock you down, but you can choose to get back up.”

Leave a comment