Skip to content

Something I Learned from my 6 year old

January 18, 2015

2015/01/img_4059.jpg

Often times it’s easy to speak without thinking. Actually more so than not it’s easier to verbally vomit than to think before speaking. Likewise, it’s all easy to forget that our children are watching our every movement, what we say, and how we treat others. Tomorrow I turn 32, and I’m very excited about what’s in store. What I do know is that while celebrating my birthday today, and opening presents my oldest daughter taught me a lesson that dates back some 2,000 years ago when a woman took all that she had to buy perfume for Jesus. Some thought she was crazy, but she didn’t care.

Today while beginning to open presents Baylee couldn’t wait for me to open her card. As I opened her card I noticed two things. One the card was about me being a scary monster which made me smile because we play monsters in our house often (based on Disney’s Monster Inc not like a horror flick). Secondly I noticed in the card a dollar bill. To some that might seem meaningless, but not to me. The dollar she gave me was all that she has in monetary terms. I’ve spoken many times to my children about it being better to give than receive, and seeing this gift from my daughter reminded me of how important it is as parents to remember everything we do shapes the path for our children… EVERYTHING. Even when we’re tired we don’t have an excuse to say careless things. That dollar she gave me will never be spent, and forever will be a priceless reminder to me and all that will hear the story.

To everyone that read this far thanks, and to everyone in my life who’s been a great example thank you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

